ANNUAL COUNCIL DECISION RECORD – 30 SEPTEMBER 2020

Attendees:

Councillors: SE Baldwin – Mayor

TH Beedle	JPD Blundell	NA Burnett	MC Clarke
N Clarke	RJ Collins	HJ David	P Davies
PA Davies	SK Dendy	DK Edwards	J Gebbie
CA Green	T Giffard	RM Granville	DG Howells
A Hussain	RM James	M Jones	DRW Lewis
JE Lewis	JR McCarthy	D Patel	RL Penhale-
S Aspey	B Jones	M Kearn	Thomas
AA Pucella	KL Rowlands	B Sedgebeer	RMI Shaw
CE Smith	SG Smith	JC Spanswick	RME Stirman
G Thomas	T Thomas	JH Tildesley	E Venables
SR Vidal	MC Voisey	LM Walters	KJ Watts
CA Webster	DBF White	PJ White	A Williams
AJ Williams	HM Williams	JE Williams	RE Young

Officers: M Shephard, L Harvey, J Nightingale, K Watson, G Lewis, C Marchant, MA Galvin, A Rees, M Pitman,

Declarations of Interest:

None

Title of Report	To appoint the Deputy Mayor for the period to May 2021 in accordance with
	Councillor Watts announced that his Consort for the ensuing year would be Councillor J Williams.
Decision Made	That Councillor K Watts be elected as Mayor for the ensuing year.
Title of Report	To elect the Mayor for the period to May 2021 in accordance with Section 23 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

	in accordance with Section 24 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.
Decision Made	That Councillor JC Spanswick be elected as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.
	Councillor Spanswick announced that his Consort for the ensuing year would be Mrs S Spanswick

Title of Report	To announce the Youth Mayor of the County Borough of Bridgend
Decision Made	That Megan Stone be announced as Youth Mayor of the County Borough for the ensuing year.

Title of Report	To announce the Deputy Youth Mayor of the County Borough of Bridgend.
Decision Made	That Tino Kaseke be announced as Youth Mayor of the County Borough for the ensuing year.

Title of Report	To elect the Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council
Decision Made	That Councillor HJ David be elected Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council for the ensuing year.

Title of Report	The Leader to appoint Members of the Cabinet, including their portfolios
Decision Made	The Leader announced that the Deputy Leader for 2019/20 would be Councillor HM Williams.
	He added that the following Cabinet Members would be responsible for the undermentioned portfolios:-
	Councillor D Patel – Wellbeing and Future Generations Councillor N Burnett – Social Services and Early Help Councillor RE Young – Communities Councillor CE Smith – Education and Regeneration
Title of Report	Proposed Programme of Meetings of the Council and Council Committees
Decision Made	That Council :-
	a. Noted the proposed programme of Council meetings for 2020/21 set out in paragraph 4.1 of the report;
	b. Approved the proposed programme of meetings of Council Committees set out in Appendix 1 to the report, subject to the meeting of SO&SC 3 on 25 November being moved to 16 November 2020 and the meeting of Democratic Services Committee on 22 October being moved to 4 November 2020.
	c. Noted the provisional draft programme of meetings of Council and Council Committees for 2021/22 set out in Appendix 2 to this report;
	d. Noted the dates of Cabinet, Cabinet Committees and the Coychurch Crematorium Joint Committee which are also set out in Appendix 1 and 2 to this report, for information purposes.
Title of Report	Appointments to the Council Committees and Other Council Bodies in Accordance with the Provisions of the Local Government Act 1972 and the Local Government Act 2000
Decision Made	That Council :-
	(1) Renamed the Audit Committee to the Governance and Audit Committee and approved that the Terms of Reference of the Audit Committee within Part 3 of the Constitution be amended accordingly to reflect the change in name of the Audit Committee in accordance with paragraph 4.2.3 of the report and the removal of the reference to the Whistleblowing Policy in paragraph 4.2.4 of the report;

(2)	Appointed the Overview and Scrutiny Committees and such other Committees as the Council considers appropriate to deal with matters which are neither reserved to the Council nor are executive functions;
(3)	Determined the size and terms of reference for those Committees as set out in Appendix 1 of the report;
(4)	Determined the allocation of seats to political groups in accordance with the political balance rules as set out in Appendix 2 of the report;
(5)	Determined which political groups represented at Council are entitled to make which appointments of Overview and Scrutiny Committee Chairpersons;
(6)	Received nominations and appointed Councillors to serve on each of the Committees, Panels and other bodies (as hereby indicated);
	Appeals Panel Appointments Committee Audit Committee Democratic Services Committee Development Control Committee Licensing Committee Licensing Act 2003 Committee Town and Community Council Forum Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 1 Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 3 Corporate Overview and Scrutiny Committee Received nominations and appointed the Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the following Committees, Panels and other bodies (as indicated) with it being noted that the Audit Committee at its first scheduled meeting will appoint a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson:
•	Appeals Panel - Chairperson Councillor PA Davies and Vice-Chairperson Councillor J McCarthy Democratic Services Committee - Chairperson Councillor E Venables Development Control Committee - Chairperson Councillor G Thomas and Vice-Chairperson Councillor RM Granville Licensing Committee & Licensing Act 2003 Committee - Chairperson Councillor D Lewis and Vice-Chairperson Councillor PA Davies Town and Community Council Forum - Chairperson – Councillor HJ David and Vice- Chairperson Councillor CE Smith

	 (8) Received nominations and appointed the Chairpersons of the following Overview and Scrutiny Committees in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 4.3 of the report, as follows: Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 1 – Councillor T Giffard Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 – Councillor CA Green Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 3 – Councillor JP Blundell 	
Title of Report	Representation on Outside Bodies and other Committees	
Decision Made	Committees That Council approved the following nominations to the bodies listed below:- South Wales Police and Crime Panel – Councillor RE Young Cardiff Capital Region City Joint Overview and Scrutiny Committee – Councillor JP Blundell Reserve Member – Councillor Alex Williams South East Wales Strategic Planning Group – Chairperson of the Development Control Committee	